Sources for Writing Topics

I went to last night’s writing group with several possible writing topics.  As I listened to each person check in I considered which ones to use.

The first topic we used came from “writing prompts” on Facebook.  Use the following words in a ten minute write:  sheets, toes, kneel, ache, nape.  Nothing too heavy, perhaps.  Unless that’s where the writer is.

The second topic I brought from my experience facilitating two book clubs reading Abide with Me.  So many women, so many opinions.  So the second topic was “A character I absolutely can not relate to.”  Only one writer read her writing on this topic.

The third topic I pulled from somewhere; it may have been creativewritingprompts.com.  A ten minute writing on “I opened the drawer and found time.”  Several sensitive sharings.

Finally, feeling like everyone was deep into dealing with their own issues, I offered a fourth writing.  (We usually only do three.)  It was a quote from Tiferet Journal.

Be soft in your practice. Think of the method as a fine silvery stream, not a raging waterfall. Follow the stream, have faith in its course. It will go its own way, meandering here, trickling there. It will find the grooves, the cracks, the crevices. Just follow it. Never let it out of your sight. It will take you….Sheng-yen.

After reading the entire quote, I suggested using “Be soft in your practice.”

We ended without sharing what we had written.  It was just for each of us.  Then we stated intentions for the week and dismissed.  Oh yeah, there were brownies!!!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Chloe on July 15, 2010 at 9:19 pm07

    Hi there – with writing, I think there’s a delicate balance between being easy on yourself and in pushing yourself sufficiently. I have yet to find the right balance! Hope you are having a good week. Chloe 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

