What holds you back?

I want to make a website.  I even have a couple friends willing to help.  I have ideas, lots of them.  But something holds me back.  I tell myself I’m testing the waters with this blog.  What am I testing?  That my thoughts and words are worth taking up a tiny bit more room in cyberspace?  By whose standards?  Can it just be something I want to try?

I want to take a road trip through the Southeast, visit places I’ve never been to–Oxford, Ms., Savannah, Ga., Memphis, Tenn.  I have all kinds of reasons why I shouldn’t.  It’ll be too expensive.  I’m using too much gas.  And what in the world am I expecting to find?  I don’t know.  How am I supposed to know that without trying?

I have forty buzillion books I want to read.  When I give myself time to enjoy reading, I discover a new author or genre, opening up even more possibilities. That thought alone overwhelms me.

What holds me back?  My perfect child flaw.  Like that problem is going to be solved by continuing to try to be perfect.  Nothing like setting yourself up for never succeeding.  Jeez, Laura, you were not sent to save the world.  You don’t know enough to do that.  Go out and learn about it.  Find new ways of connecting.  Redefine your experiences, and have some more.

Oh, and let yourself enjoy it.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ginger on July 22, 2010 at 9:19 am07

    Just do it! You will have a great time! Take a couple of books you have in mind to read and maybe go with a friend. Expense is probably just an excuse. What better time than now? Keep us posted on what you see & do. Most of all enjoy being you!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ginger on July 22, 2010 at 9:19 am07

    Oh, & make a website. You can always change things that you get tired of doing. Life is good. Jeez, Laura, you were sent to enjoy the world. Enjoy!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

