The Power of Books

Day 7…

Three books are currently pouring thoughts into my head.  Barbara Ueland’s If You Want to Write, originally published in 1938, encourages my creativity.  Sue Monk Kidd and her daughter, Ann Monk Taylor’s Traveling with Pomegranates, explores the mother-daughter relationship.  And Kathleen Norris’ Acedia and Me challenges my ennui and complacency.

This morning I woke wanting to let them go.  Pretend I haven’t read what I’ve read.  Yeah, right.  By ten o’clock I had picked up and read pages from two of them.

There are reasons I selected these books.  They are talking to me about where I am, and  I know from experience it may take more energy to resist them than to let them keep moving through me.

Writing Topic:  What I’m Reading

Leave a Reply

