Creative Problem Solving

Day 9…

So here I am at the library.  Something happened to my computer this morning, putting a bit of a kink in my routine.  Firefox has crashed and I’m clueless.  I filled out their little report and sent it to them so they can “fix it,” but I’m not sure what that means.  Is it my computer, their program, their computer on my program?  Argh.

While wondering how my morning would go without this part of my routine, I turned on the television.  But watching Katrina hit New Orleans on the fifth anniversary news specials, all I could think about was how complicated fixing my computer might be.  This was not helpful.  I turned off the television and walked to my voting precinct at the neighborhood elementary school.

When I returned home I tried the computer again, checking email, playing free cell, but no Firefox.  Focus,Laura.  Microsoft word was not affected.  I began searching documents for this semester’s intern class.  Within ten minutes the “big plan” that had been swirling around in my head for a couple weeks came together.  I was able to block out the year’s unit plans and how they fit on the calendar.  Whoa.  I’ve never been that organized.

I’m not sure how this worked, moving beyond the immediate roadblock to address other important issues. 

Interesting.  On Monday, I begin my afterschool class “Creative Problem-Solving.”  Maybe I’m practicing.

Writing Topic:  Swirling Around in my Head

Leave a Reply

