An Art Full Life

Day 82…

Finished an excellent book, The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri, after visiting three elementary classrooms this morning.  I still have a half ton of paper work to do for my LSUS class.  Now I’m looking forward to the next two hours of just creating, working on my Nano novel, Bella.

  In the fourth grade class I observed, the teacher passed out a two page handout, printed on the front and back– four pages of descriptive words for the students to choose from as they wrote paragraphs describing their shoes. I asked if I could have a copy.  There are wonderful words to replace some of my overworked standbys…

Melissa’s quote the other day from Stephen King’s book On Writing:

Life isn’t a support system for art.  It’s the other way around.  

Writing topic:  On writing 

Leave a Reply

