Educating Laura

Day 84…

Today I visited my sixtieth classroom this semester.  I only have five more to go.  I go to observe the interns interacting in their classes, to offer support or suggestions, and to get ideas for seminar discussions.  I’ve been in first grade classes and twelfth grade classes.  Public schools and private.  Neighborhood and magnet.  Urban, rural, and small town.  I’m full of experience and unsure of what to do with it.

Teacher by teacher, classroom by classroom, four years of observations.  I’m collecting amazing impressions, data, opinions, and concerns.  For now that’s all I know.

Education is a progressive discovery of our own ignorance.  ~Will Durant

I like a teacher who gives you something to take home to think about besides homework.  ~Lily Tomlin as “Edith Ann”

Education is not filling a pail but the lighting of a fire.  ~William Butler Yeats

I have never let my schooling interfere with my education.  ~Mark Twain

Writing topic:  A valuable education

Leave a Reply

