Pick Up the Pen

Day 97…

I have thousands of words left to write for my Nano novel.  Thousands…and only a few more days.  I have avoided the whole thing for two days.  Partly because I have developed a nasty staph infection.  Oh good, I’ll stay busy obsessing about that.   Not really a good excuse, but I’ve made it work for two days. 

I woke this morning with intention.  To put aside the distractions and face the novel.  Part of the fear is how much I find of myself in the story (duh).  What do I not want to face?  How will I know if I don’t just do it?   What if I find out I’m not who I think I am?  This carefully constructed image blown to smithereens. 

I guess it’s just another infection I need to clear up.

Ernest Hemingway said, “There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”

Writing topic:  Just do it

Leave a Reply

