A Work in Progress

Day 133…

So all day yesterday I worked on my “quilt”—cutting, pasting, painting–thoroughly lost in the work.  Then on my way to writing group I had a thought.  Well, it didn’t come out of the blue; I was contemplating how the group might go.  I am, after all, the facilitator.

But the aha moment came when I considered that for the last eight years I have been piecing together “where I went wrong” to cause my son to take his own life.  I was doing the best I knew how.  Oh, Laura.  It’s time to forgive your mother.  She, too, was doing the best she knew how.

Funny,  in writing sometimes, I mix the words guilt and quilt. 

Sometimes I lie awake at night and ask, “Where have I gone wrong?”  Then a voice says to me, “This is going to take more than one night.”            Charles Schultz

Writing topic:  In progress

Leave a Reply

