Hearing Voices

Day 141…

I’m listening to others’ voices today, as I read Before You Know Kindness, the book for next week’s book club, watch the movie Songcatcher, read more from the book Art and Fear, and sit with teacher friends at our Friday get together. 

I know my voice will be chattering along with all these others…I just don’t want it to be the only voice I pay attention to.  Morning pages can have my full attention.  The chance to rant and plan and pontificate to myself.  But somewhere in the middle of those three pages I begin to get bored.  Enough of yourself, Laura.  Finish up here and give others a chance to speak.

Wisdom is the reward you get for a lifetime of listening when you’d have preferred to talk.  ~Doug Larson

Courage is what it takes to stand up and speak; courage is also what it takes to sit down and listen.  ~Winston Churchill

Lots of people talk to animals…. Not very many listen, though…. That’s the problem.  ~Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Writing topic:  A good listener

Leave a Reply

