Sideswiped

Day 148…

I make plans in the morning.  A list of things to do gleaned from writing morning pages and being a relatively responsible adult.  Then by the end of the day I’ve at least visited everything and begun considering how tomorrow’s plan might finish left over items.  Chop wood, carry water.

It’s satisfying for someone who’s still afraid of being sideswiped.  But lately I’m enjoying the serendipitous moments I don’t see coming.  Maybe I could name those as “sideswipes” and take away some of that old fear. 

When a friend got lost in the dark trying to find the writing group, I devised a plan to place solar lights along the driveway, then began the research in earnest.  But after hours of staring at Lowe’s and Home Depot’s display walls, I come home to find that Betty has emailed me to tell of her experiences with solar lights and offer to go with me next Saturday to finish the task.  Yes!  I don’t have to do this on my own.

This morning when I opened Facebook, there was my picture, taken by Byron of  a couple of years ago.  A really good picture.  And without giving it a second thought I made it my profile picture.  Aha…have I ever been that spontaneous about sharing such an image of me?

I could get used to this.

It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan.
Eleanor Roosevelt

Writing topic:  Spontaneity

Leave a Reply

