Independent/Interdependent

Day 149…

The second semester of the intern seminar I facilitate begins this week, as does the winter session of Renzi, an afterschool program I work with.  On Tuesday and Wednesday afternoons I’m at the college; on Monday and Thursday, at Renzi.  The mornings will be filled with classroom visits and writing buddies. 

My time has been my own for the last month, with only writing connections and book club meetings on the calendar.  I see now that it has been an independent/interdependent study of sorts.  Without lessons to be in charge of, I was able to watch and listen to myself, those around me and the interactions among us more intensely.   

 How “we” learn new information…how “we” react…how “we” try to connect…what gets “our” attention…what shuts “us” down…how “we” adjust to change…what “we” resist…what distracts “us”…how “we” stay focused…what “we” talk about…what “we” listen to…It is my desire to take these experiences and weave them into my more formal classrooms.

It really boils down to this: that all life is interrelated. We are all caught in an inescapable network of mutuality, tied together into a single garment of destiny. Whatever affects one directly, affects all indirectly. We are made to live together because of the interrelated structure of reality . . . Before you finish eating breakfast in the morning, you’ve depended on more than half the world. This is the way our universe is structured, this is its interrelated quality. We aren’t going to have peace on Earth until we recognize the basic fact of the interrelated structure of all reality. “
-Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
1967 Christmas Sermon on Peace
 
Writing topic:  Connection

On another note…I highly recommend the movie, The King’s Speech.  (for bonus points, how does that connect?…just practicing )

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by aspamseesit on January 16, 2011 at 9:19 pm01

    Ah, I wish I could be so down-to-earth and practical.

    Reply

  2. Hi Laura, Somehow you found me – well actually my blog – way out on Mitchells Island, New South Wales, Australia. Isn’t the Internet a great vehicle for Connection. Here’s a link for a piece I wrote on your suggested theme of the day: http://eveyoga.wordpress.com/2010/08/09/a-night-in-rio/
    I’ll get your great blog site up as a link on mine “Yoga Suits Her”. Cheers, Eve G.

    Reply

  3. Good day:
    I read your comment on Soul Writings, and any time you wish to place writing on our blog, we would welcome it. Good Luck with the retirement and writing. I too am retired, writing, connecting and loving every minute of it.

    Peace, love, light and blessings on this new stage of your life! It is exciting times for all of us who came through the hippie era!

    “White Eagle”

    Reply

  4. “…tied together into a single garment of destiny.” How beautiful! Thank you for sharing this quote. I love your writing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

