Quiet Desperation

Day 151…

Most men lead lives of quiet desperation and go to the grave with the song still in them.
Henry David Thoreau

Oh how sad…I walked in the mall the other day because the weather was so gray and rainy.  The mall…with enticing clothes and electronics and lotions and food lined up on either side.  I wasn’t interested.  I watched people as they connected with behaviors, words, appearances. I recognized those behaviors, words, and appearances.  But for me, it felt like that quiet desperation. 

I want a deeper connection. Not one of quiet desperation.  I want to sing my song before the grave.

Writing topic:  Quiet desperation

3 responses to this post.

  1. Beautifully written and expressed. I cant agree with you more, the desperation of people shows through the need to shop for more material things to find a way for their happiness to blossom. Yet the true meaning of life is through experiences of the heart and the song it sings 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by JulieRoseSews on January 22, 2011 at 9:19 pm01

    This is absolutely beautiful. You’ll sing your song. Just knowing that you want to is a major milestone.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

