All Time Is Sacred Time

Day 161…

My friend Melissa at http://womanstoryteller.wordpress.com talks today of keeping the Sabbath as one of her spiritual practices, and I begin thinking what this means for me.  I have committed myself as teacher and/or facilitator in several settings, but those specific commitments are on Mondays through Thursdays with occasional Fridays and Saturdays.  I choose to keep the other times for rest and reflection. 

Every morning I meditate and write, not letting the “world” in until I’m ready.  For the first fifty years of my life, with family and full-time jobs, I didn’t know of that choice.  But I have learned how important this practice is for preparing me for my day.  

So in a week when I begin visiting the classrooms of each of my 58 interns, scattered over four parish school systems (I’m in Louisiana;  parishes are what everyone else calls counties), I will schedule visits after 9:00 a.m., allowing enough preparation time.  This is new for me.  A way to both “keep the Sabbath” and honor my commitments.

I feel that the essence of spiritual practice is your attitude toward others.  When you have a pure, sincere motivation, then you have right attitude toward others based on kindness, compassion, love and respect.     Dalai Lama

Writing topic:  Sacred time

One response to this post.

  1. The Sabbath as our own Sacred Time….love this….and will carry it with me. Thank you! ~ xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

