Friendly Ghosts

Day 163…

I spent yesterday afternoon sorting through a past life.  My mother died in June and my brother, now living in the house where we grew up, is readying it for an estate sale.  

  There have been a lot of ghosts in that house for me, and not all of them were friendly.  My brother’s ex-wife did a remarkable job sorting, cleaning and generally ghost-busting.  Something my siblings and I couldn’t do.  Now it was time for my other brother and I to claim mementos of our own.

Yesterday was fun.  I took the little drop-leaf table that my dolls and I used for tea parties.  Then found a picture of me, late teens, that was really pretty.  Why did I not remember that?  The Indian bedspread from my hippie years, has found a place covering the sofa in my writing room.  I even took the framed certificate for participation in the 1963 Sonata-Sonatina Festival.  Why not?  At one time I really could play the piano.

I’ll go back today to pack up the drawers of family pictures.  A job I have dreaded.  But perhaps I’m ready to find more pictures of which I can now be reminded.

Nostalgia is a file that removes the rough edges from the good old days.  ~Doug Larson

Writing topic:  Nostalgia

3 responses to this post.

  1. I love this! Sounds like it was very healing for you. Years ago I had a similar experience through writing and remembering – and I realized the things that haunted me from my youth were much smaller than the memories of laughter, joy and love. You wrote about your experience beautifully – I really enjoy reading your posts. ~ xo

    Reply

  2. Posted by Chloe on January 31, 2011 at 9:19 pm01

    Sounds like a difficult time my friend xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

