The Year of the Rabbit

Day 167…

Another day of cold.  The afterschool program is shut down today because of burst pipes.  Another chance to stay in.  

But as much as I enjoy reading, watching movies, eating soup and drinking hot chocolate, I’m beginning to get stir crazy.  I need to be more focused today, for my own sake.  This “free time” could be used more wisely.  

There is no ice or snow on the roads.  I can run errands, if I dress warmly.  There is a certain feeling of accomplishment with jobs finished and well done.  And I hear from others more organized than I that these jobs can be finished earlier than at the last minute.  Maybe I could try that.  Imagine…to be ahead of schedule.  

 Today is the Chinese New Year.  The year of the rabbit.  “A quiet, positive and inspiring year.”  To quote MSN.com.  Maybe being organized would be a good way for me to begin.

As the biggest library if it is in disorder is not as useful as a small but well-arranged one, so you may accumulate a vast amount of knowledge but it will be of far less value to you than a much smaller amount if you have not thought it over for yourself.        Arthur Schonpenhauer

In reading the lives of great men, I found that the first victory they won was over themselves…self discipline with all of them came first.       Harry S. Truman

And in the interest of balance…

One of the advantages of being disorderly is that one is constantly making exciting discoveries.       A.A. Milne

Writing Topic:  Being Organized

Leave a Reply

