Staying Present

Day 169…

When I feel anxious it means that I’ve either slipped into a past unpleasant thought or have skidded ahead into an unknown future. 

Someone repeats old gossip in my presence.  Oh, it hurt so much the first ten times.  Stop, Laura.  Breathe.  It isn’t true.  It is old “news” that you know how to let go of.  Just let it go again.

I can’t find my keys and I need to be in class in twenty minutes.  Oh, dear.  Stand still.  Breathe, Laura.  Sometimes an image of where they are appears and sometimes I see them right in front of me.

The primary cause of unhappiness is never the situation but your thoughts about it.           Eckhart Tolle

Don’t let yesterday use up too much of today.  ~Cherokee Indian Proverb

Having spent the better part of my life trying either to relive the past or experience the future before it arrives, I have come to believe that in between these two extremes is peace.  ~Author Unknown

Writing topic:  In between

Leave a Reply

