Becoming Myself

Day 171…

Focus, Laura.  It’s another Monday.  What’s ahead for this week?  I organize my “to-do” list.  What I need to do and what I want to do, sure.  But something else…a piece of time to just be open to…what?  The rhythm of the universe, the mystery, on beyond zebra?  I don’t know.  I just know it’s an awareness of serendipity that can’t be completely  imagined while planning a to-do list.

 Here’s a poem I love by May Sarton

 Now I Become Myself

Now I become myself.  It’s taken

Time, many years and places;

I have been dissolved and shaken,

Worn other people’s faces,

Run madly as if Time were there,

Terribly old, crying a warning,

“Hurry, you’ll be dead before–”

(What?  Before you reach the morning?

Or the end of the poem is clear?

Or love safe in the walled city?

to see the entire poem…http://oldpoetry.com/opoem/52015-May-Sarton-Now-I-Become-Myself

Writing topic:  Serendipity

 
One response to this post.

  1. I read the whole poem. It’s very beautiful. I will make time to get to know May Sarton, for sure! Eve G.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

