The Noticer

Day 174…

The Noticer by Andy Andrews.  I didn’t know anything about it when I took it from the shelf at the library Tuesday night.  I get a lot of books by just letting them “jump” into my hands and feeling the connection.  Then I either set them back in their place, walk around with them for a while, or make the decision right then to check it out and take it home.  Real scientific…

Well, I read the whole book yesterday.  It’s not long.  I knew nothing about Andy Andrews.  He is a motivational speaker and the book is a parable.  I was motivated.  

The story is about Jones, an old man who shows up when people are in crisis, (he already knows a lot about them before they have met) conversing with them and offering suggestions.  Then he moves on.  The people he connects with now have time to consider this encounter and what it means for them.

After finishing the book, I went to sleep.  This morning I consider what it means for me, as I make my to do list.  I am visiting two more classrooms and then facilitating an afterschool science class on, get this, “observing.”  I will be like Jones, a bit of conversation, a few suggestions, and then time for the teachers, students and myself to consider the encounter.

The best way to succeed in life is to act on the advice we give to others.  ~Author Unknown

The true secret of giving advice is, after you have honestly given it, to be perfectly indifferent whether it is taken or not, and never persist in trying to set people right.  ~Hannah Whitall Smith

Writing topic:  Advice giving

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by trapsas1 on February 10, 2011 at 9:19 pm02

    Thanks for the book recommend, I just ordered it from the library. Also, two great quotes today!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

