Dreaming

Day 175…

I’m real wobbly this morning.  It may be the fact that after a few days of cold and precipitation, this weekend looks really promising.  Sunny skies–50’s and 60’s.  What will I do with my time?  Followed quickly by the thought, what did I do with the time past?  This staying in the moment is tricky.

I have big dreams.  I slog along with “what’s in front of me” and “who am I now” continuously playing in my head and then worry that by being so preoccupied with the moment my dreams will always just be that, dreams.  A carrot in front of the horse to keep me moving forward.  It was certainly important when I was paralyzed with fear.   

But now what?  What sign am I looking for?  What kind of guarantee am I needing?  There are signs all around me; their meanings just keep changing.  There are all kinds of guarantees; I just keep reading the fine print.  Living fully means all of this?  

Today I’ll take a walk or three and get out of this spin cycle.

Whatever you do, or dream you can, begin it.  Boldness has genius and power and magic in it.            Johann Wolfgang von Goethe 

Each of us has an inner dream that we can unfold if we will just have the courage to admit what it is.  And the faith to trust our own admission.  The admitting is often very difficult.          Julia Cameron

 If one advances confidently in the direction of one’s dreams, and endeavors to live the life which one has imagined, one will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.     Henry David Thoreau

Writing topic:  My dreams

4 responses to this post.

  1. Very thought-provoking post. Thank you.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Karen on February 12, 2011 at 9:19 pm02

    Hi there,
    Have you ever tried writing a 3-year essay? You write it in the first person, present tense and it might start something like: As I sit here on 12th February 2014 I am bathed in sunlight and the sound of the waves from the ocean. My first novel went off to the publisher a few months ago and I’m expecting the first printed copies this week. Aaagh, how exciting is that? …..
    You continue for as long as you like, describing life in as much detail as you can – remember, 1st person, present tense. It’s real!
    I do this every year (sometimes in January but often later in the year) and have now done it for long enough to be able to read some of the earlier entries. You would be shocked by how much that I wrote about is now either in my life, coming up in my life, on hold through my own choice or discarded – through my own choice.
    It’s also soooo exciting to read it back.
    If you haven’t tried it maybe give it a go?
    Huge smiles from a sunny Manchester (England) as I head out the door with the dog for her favourite bit of the day!

    Reply

  3. I wondered the same thing about my dreams when I started really learning to live in the moment. It’s like, “Well then, how do I dream? How to I set goals for the future if I am only to be in THIS moment?” I think both can happen, but it’s when we fall into the excessive worrying, excessive “shoulding on ourselves” and excessive “I wish I coulds” that a problem can occur. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I recently wrote a post on dreams and the whole Freudian idea of them being a manifestation of our unconscious. I think I might of mentioned staying in the moment in other posts too. That’s been key to my own journey through recovery from a disorder. Here’s the dream post: http://thissideofthecreek.wordpress.com/2011/01/27/not-just-a-dream/

    Thanks again,
    Meredith

    Reply

Leave a Reply

