A Day in the Life

Day 176…

So yesterday begins with big dreams.  How do I pull it together?  How do I recognize that it is already together?

First of all, soon after I sent my blog into the blogosphere, I get a phone call.  A dear writerfriend who is pregnant with her third child.  Their heater is out, again.  The five-year-old is at school.  Could the husband drop the two-year-old off at my house on his way to work?  Sure.  My house is not childproofed, but I could just follow him around letting him show me what needed my attention.  Is it important to know that this blond babe can look a lot like my own son at that age?  I took a lot of pictures.

The phone rang again around 11:30.  My little brother ( age 57)  He’s on his way to the Grammys, having been nominated in the contemporary blues album category.  Two years ago about this time, he was struck with viral encephalitis.  Brain seizures and swelling.  In ICU for a month.  It left him with some challenges in communication, so I, the big sister, found him a plane ticket online.  His first words on the phone yesterday morning,  “Now where am I supposed to be?”  Oh, dear.  He should be at DFW.   Ha, ha, ha.  He was.  Just a bit of little brother teasing.

Then after dropping the two-year-old off at his now-warming home, I dash into a college faculty meeting (ten minutes late…two year olds take more time than I remembered)  A little gear shifting on my part to figure out what they were talking about.  OK.  I’m good.  Just nod when my supervisor looks at me, agree to the three assignments she gives me, and note it in my daily planner.  I can do this.

Next I drive to the weekly gathering of friends for happy hour at a local Mexican restaurant.  Most of us once worked at an elementary school together.  We call our time together “therapy.”

Finally, home alone.  To the book I’m reading,  House Rules by Jodi Picoult, told from the points of view of a teenage boy with Asberger’s, the mother, the brother and others.

It’s all connected.

You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one. I hope someday you’ll join us. And the world will live as one.      John Lennon
 

The world is so empty if one thinks only of mountains, rivers and cities; but to know someone who thinks and feels with us, and who, though distant, is close to us in spirit, this makes the earth for us an inhabited garden.      Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Man can no longer live for himself alone. We must realize that all life is valuable and that we are united to all life. From this knowledge comes our spiritual relationship with the universe.       Albert Schweitzer
 

When you have once seen the glow of happiness on the face of a beloved person, you know that a man can have no vocation but to awaken that light on the faces surrounding him. In the depth of winter, I finally learned that within me there lay an invincible summer.          Albert Camus

Writing topic:  Sharing the web
 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Great post, Laura. First of all, congratulations to your brother. That’s wonderful news. Your post reminded me how important it is to remove ourselves from our own world a little bit at times.

    Last week, I was frustrated and cold, from all the snow, when a waitress at our small town diner told us that they were denied their application for bankruptcy, and they are going to lose their home and their cars. Later, a dear friend’s son died of a sudden heart attack. It shocked me right out of my little pout.

    All of the sudden, my life seemed so full and blessed. I knew I was blessed, but had forgotten, amidst all the recent turmoil, just how much. Thanks for a great post and the terrific quotes.

    Reply

  2. I’ve just found your blog and have read several posts. I’m enjoying what I’ve read. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us.

    Jackie

    Reply

  3. Lovely quotes…. I enjoyed Jodie Piccoult’s House Rules very much. Cheers, Eve

    Reply

Leave a Reply

