Other People Have Other Plans

Day 179…

Other people have other plans.  It was my mantra when I was as young as five.  I would say it to my mother when I didn’t like her opinion of things, perhaps.  Or when I wanted to be left alone to my own imaginings.  Or maybe when I thought I might be defending others who wanted to be left alone to their own imaginings.

It still rings true for me.  Why in the world would he do that?  I don’t know.  Other people have other plans.  Why for heaven sake’s do they think that is a good idea?  I don’t know.  Other people have other plans.  By accepting this in others it allows me to follow my own “other” plans.  

I can’t always explain to another who I am at the moment or why I am doing what I am doing.  I try.  Deep connection is my big dream.  I can only continue to connect deeply with myself and invite others into the experience. 

Meditation helps.  Walking helps.  Writing helps.  Natalie Goldberg offers amazing silent retreats in Taos called True Secret of Writing:  Sit, Walk, Write  www.nataliegoldberg.com

Writing topic:  Going deeper

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by smile breathe and go slowly on February 15, 2011 at 9:19 pm02

    wow….i like this! “other people have other plans”..what a release of pressure to try and understand..its a simple, peaceful way to let go…think i needed this today! thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

