Ten Years Later

Day 186…

Before I retired from teaching, I had an “environmental” classroom called Nature Lab.  It was a hands-on science class for four-year-olds through second graders.  We had a room full of animals, an organic garden outside, and a hillside of little trees.  It was my dream job. 

I would go to national science teacher conventions and come back with more ideas.  A nature trail.  A weather station.  But it wasn’t easy to do alone.  And I eventually wore myself out.   Today there is no garden, not even the cyclone fence that once surrounded it.  Only a small number of trees remain in our arboretum. 

Yesterday two friends and I walked a newly laid nature trail that was the brainchild of a science teacher at the Montessori school where the trail begins.  It ends at the community youth garden in a city park.  Guess what’s in between?  My precious little elementary school, once the home of Nature Lab.  With the help of the city, some large grants, and the community garden coalition, “my plans” have evolved. 

I worked in the community garden last summer with neighborhood teenagers and probably will again this summer.  They just plowed a larger area we’re now calling “the farm.”  And there will be fruit trees and berry bushes. 

Walking that trail was a dream come true.  I didn’t do it.  But I’d like to think that I was part of the Universe moving in that direction.

Across the street from the beginning of the trail were these tiny blue flowers.

At the end of the trail, at the garden pavilion, was a tiny bluebird.

I’m happy. 

Writing topic:  Evolving plans

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by mamaquinn on February 22, 2011 at 9:19 am02

    God is Good- He knows what is in our hearts and if they are true I believe he sees things through. You are such a blessing, Laura! Those children that you taught will also carry on all of the wonderful things you taught them and pass it on. You have made your mark on the world- I know you did on me! Love you!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ginger on February 22, 2011 at 9:19 am02

    I am grateful for your Nature Lab and for the influence it has had on your community. These are the things that give me joy — to know that others have shared in God’s goodness. Thank you, my friend, for sharing these rich blessings of creation.

    Reply

  3. Hi Laura! Today my blog was awarded the “Irresistibly Sweet Blog Award” and as part of my receiving this award I have been asked to “pay it forward” by bestowing this award on ten of my favorite blogs. I have chosen you! I have renamed the award “The Irresistibly Brilliant Blog Award” and am so happy to share it with you. I look forward to your posts each and every day! To learn more about the award and how you can also “Pay It Forward” check out today’s post: http://womanstoryteller.wordpress.com/2011/02/22/abundant-mind-day-23/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

