Shades of Gray

Day 233…

It all started when Leah said her church was studying  a unit called “Seeing Gray in a Black and White World.”  Yes, that made sense.  Except that my overactive mind began to play with the words.  “Gray” as a category seems too limiting.  Not unlike the words “black and white.”  Maybe it’s just my problem with the limit of words in general. 

But I began to think of the spectrum of the color gray.  And how black and white are the variables in that spectrum.  How necessary black and white are to gray.

I thought of the rich diversity in Ansel Adams’ black and white photography.  

It was time to play with this concept myself.  So I printed out mandalas from www.edupics  and using graphite pencils only, I experimented with the shades of gray.  I don’t know what I proved.  That wasn’t the point.  I just needed to experience the words that were playing in my head.

 

Writing topic:  Experiencing concepts

3 responses to this post.

  1. The mandalas look great!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kristin Brænne on April 10, 2011 at 9:19 pm04

    Reply

Leave a Reply

