It’s Just the Beginning

Day 237…

One of the topics in last night’s writing group was “It’s just the beginning.”  My ten minute write explored the idea that all I can know is the beginning.  After that, if I allow it (because, of course, it’s a control thing), whatever I have initiated can take on a life of its own. 

This morning I wake up ready to do my morning pages, the habit I am so proud of developing, and I decide not to do them.  Rather than anxiously watching my words (and self) appear, I begin to meditate.  Disappear in my breath.  No words.  No thought.  Ah, this is nice. 

After that, still no morning pages.  I’m letting them go for now.  I want to see what happens next.

Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.
– Martin Luther King, Jr.

It is impossible to begin to learn that which one thinks one already knows.
– Epictetus

Writing topic:  It’s just the beginning

Leave a Reply

