Beginning Again

Day 247…

Back to words…Yesterday I was assimilating, both consciously and at some other level, the phrase “to die before you die.”   I began with the idea of watching ego, but using reason beyond that got complicating.  There was way too much thinking.  The best thing for me to do under these circumstances is to pay attention to the work I can be doing.  So I graded intern projects, walked in the park, drank a ton of water (I still have a kidney stone I’m trying to pass) and prepare for my assignment during the eight days of Artbreak, our local children’s art festival.  Oh, and I read about 200 pages of The Girl Who Played with Fire.

Then I went to bed.  A bit anxious, full of experience, and still unclear about the phrase.  Let it go, Laura.  That’s what sleep is for. 

This morning, after a night full of dreams with many people from my past, I begin again.  To focus on the work I can be doing…Ah there is still much work to be done.  I am not dead.  I have not given up.  Even when I understand little beyond that.

Be willing to be a beginner every single morning.–Meister Eckhart

Start by doing what’s necessary; then do what’s possible; and suddenly you are doing the impossible.–St. Francis of Assisi

I wake expectant, hoping to see a new thing.–Annie Dillard

Whatever you do, or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius and power and magic in it.–Goethe

Writing topic:  Beginning again

Leave a Reply

