Setting Boundaries

Day 250…

I should feel overwhelmed this week…So much to do in such a limited time.

But I don’t.  Am I finally learning my limits, how to set boundaries, letting go of hoop jumping for others?  Me, the adult child of an alchoholic, the ex-wife of a bipolar, the mother of a child who committed suicide. 

After all these years, am I now learning how to take care of myself?  And know that it’s OK…

My 58 interns have an online term project due this week.  I told them I could have it graded early if I received it by Sunday.  And that’s what I did.  So everyone who posted their projects after Sunday will have to wait until Artbreak is over.  And yet they continue to email with requests to look over their project and let them know if there’s anything they are missing.  Argh…

Too bad.  Class meets tonight and I will remind them that their projects will be graded next week.

Meanwhile I will focus my attention and energy on the six classes of third graders who will come to my station today.  After I eat my breakfast, dry my hair, pack my lunch, drink more water and walk the dog.

Life is good.

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.       Reinhold Neibuhr

Writing topic:  Wisdom to know the difference

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Robin Quinn on April 28, 2011 at 9:19 am04

    Love this and love you, Laura! So proud of you!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

