Science for Children

Day 259…

Yesterday as it was nearing time for after school classes of science, I felt resistance.  I didn’t want to go.  I was sleepy and just wanted to take a nap.  What was this?

I had been at the computer for hours entering data and evaluating term projects.  Every year more computer work is added.  The first year I taught the intern seminar all I entered were final grades and the choice was credit or no credit.  Then the online project was added (from the department, not from me)  and last year I became responsible for entering mid-term and final performance evaluations for each intern from their college supervisors.  Yuck!!!

So here at the end of the semester, my job is computer work.  The fun part is over.  And my eyes were tired.  I was tired.  And I didn’t want to go to Renzi…

What would I “teach” them?  I was in educationese mode.  And I was meeting resistance.

It was a beautiful day.  We could go outside.  Surely we could find some science out there.  A shift of perspective and… voila!!!

Cloud watching

Four-leaf clover searching

Compass reading

Bubble blowing

It was all science, wasn’t it?

Writing topic:  A shift in perspective

Leave a Reply

