Morning Has Broken

Day 265…

Forgive me…I am becoming aware that what I write in the morning on this blog sets the tone for my day.  My intentions, my morning pages, a koan to work.  Everything  becomes a manifestation of what I have “told” cyberspace.  A 21st century morning prayer… 

Yesterday my blog was about my new-found positive energy.  I used it to finish my obligations at the college, facilitate a wonderful book club meeting, learn how to use my new NOOK and end the day at writing group with a plan to shop for a new dress today with Melissa because this weekend I’m going to New Orleans with my brother to celebrate the med school graduation of my niece’s boyfriend.  Way cool!

babble, babble, babble

Story for the day…

An old rabbi once asked his pupils how they could tell when the night had ended and the day had begun.

“Could it be,” asked one of the students, “when you can see an animal in the distance and tell whether it’s a sheep or a dog?”

“No,” answered the rabbi.

Another asked, “Is it when you can look at a tree in the distance and tell whether it’s a fig tree or a peach tree?”

“No,” answered the rabbi.

“Then when is it?” the pupils demanded.

“It is when you can look on the face of any man or woman and see that it is your sister or brother.  Because if you cannot see this, it is still night.”                                                                   

                                                                                                                                Tales of the Hasidim

Writing topic:  The light of day

Leave a Reply

