Non-anxious Presence

Day 267…

My desire is to be a non-anxious presence, and that leads me to address what worries me. That makes sense.  One can not be an anxious non-anxious presence, can one?  So in order to be honestly non-anxious, I have to continue to face fears, real or imagined.  Chop wood, carry water.

In two hours I will travel to New Orleans (assuming it’s not yet underwater) with my brother and his younger daughter.  We are going to a party on a river boat with a band and sit down dinner…to celebrate the med school graduation of his older daughter’s boyfriend.

OK…check my fears. 

Mississippi River is flooding…I’m not anxious about that.  We can always turn around and come home. 

What will I wear to a dressy, but not formal party in New Orleans?…Not anxious about that either.  Melissa and I shopped on Thursday for the perfect outfit.  I even found some shoes that might really be comfortable.

In the car for 6 hours with my anxious brother and his teen-age daughter…I’m not even anxious about that.  I can just repeat the mantra I’m not in charge  in my head whenever necessary.  For I am learning that when I am not anxious it helps neutralize the anxieties of others.  I practice this throughout the school year with beginning teachers and their students.  

So here I go…to the City of Sin as the river is rising…it’ll be fun.  

For peace of mind, resign as general manager of the universe.  ~Author Unknown

I am an old man and have known a great many troubles, but most of them never happened.  ~Mark Twain

There are more things, Lucilius, that frighten us than injure us, and we suffer more in imagination than in reality.  ~Seneca

Wanna fly, you got to give up the shit that weights you down.  ~Toni Morrison

Writing topic:  Non-anxious

Leave a Reply

