In the Garden

Day 274…

I haven’t done morning pages for the last couple of months.  A routine I religiously followed for years…awake before daybreak, a cup of coffee and my black and white marbled composition book in bed…writing three pages before I let the rest of the world in.

I have still stayed in bed with a cup of coffee…but there was no written processing of the recent past or planning a to do list for the future.  More meditation.

This morning I’m in my front garden.  It rained last night.  There is a cool freshness out here.  My computer says it’s 66 degrees.  A mockingbird is serenading.  A distant train horn blows.  My cone flowers are blooming.  Two mourning doves are waddling on my driveway.

I planted this perennial garden several years ago, hoping for less maintenance.  And faithfully every year I have iris, Shasta daisies, lantana, cone flowers and rosemary.  But I also have baby sweet gum trees, pecan trees, cherry laurel trees, crepe myrtle trees and pin oak trees.  (Those are the ones I recognize.)  And lots of nut grass.

Yesterday, in a nature girl mood, I started uprooting nut grass and “trees,” then went to Lowe’s and bought two blue plastic Adirondack chairs.  This morning I’m thinking I have created a new setting for my morning routine.

Perhaps in time pictures will follow.

The best place to seek God is in a garden.  You can dig for him there.  ~George Bernard Shaw

The greatest gift of the garden is the restoration of the five senses.  ~Hanna Rion

Everything that slows us down and forces patience, everything that sets us back into the slow circles of nature, is a help. Gardening is an instrument of grace.
May Sarton

Writing topic:  Morning gardens

Leave a Reply

