A Writer’s Life

Day 279…

Yesterday I wanted to be open to new ideas and experiences…A clarification with the yardman, a conversation with my brother, a struggle to get my computer talk to my Nook, a listening and sharing at writing group…Ah, the communications thing.

This morning I want to write, but not memoir or journaling.  Not an over-processing of what goes on in my head.  I’ve been decluttering my own story, clearing out my self-absorbed whine to find a more universal human experience.

The only intention I stated for the week last night in the group was to be able to download library ebooks onto my Nook.  I should be finished with that this morning.  Let the storytelling begin.

There are only two or three human stories, and they go on repeating themselves as fiercely as if they had never happened before.     Willa Cather

In the tale, in the telling, we are all one blood.  Take the tale in your teeth, then, and bite till the blood runs, hoping it’s not poison; and we will all come to the end together, and even to the beginning:  living, as we do, in the middle.   Ursala K. Guin

We are lonesome animals.  We spend all our life trying to be less lonesome.  One of our ancient methods is to tell a story begging the listener to say—and to feel—Yes, that’s the way it is, or at least that’s the way I feel it.  You’re not as alone as you thought.     John Steinbeck

Writing topic:  Storytelling

2 responses to this post.

  1. “There are only two or three human stories, and they go on repeating themselves as fiercely as if they had never happened before.” – what an awesome quote – thanks for sharing xx

    Reply

  2. “. . . decluttering my own story. . . ” YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

