I Am Woman

Day 288…

At 5:55 a.m. on June 4, 2010 my biological mother died.  Her life spirit had already ceased to be by the time I got to the nursing home at 6:02.

Our relationship was such a struggle.  Each wanting affirmation from the other.  Each wanting to be understood by the other.

Four days before her death, while my brother and I were visiting her in the intensive care unit at the hospital, she pulled off her oxygen mask, look straight at me and in a loud, clear voice said, “I’m so sorry.”

I know, Mom, I think today.  So am I.  So am I.

I am the woman I so struggled with for affirmation and understanding.

Today, after completing my morning routine in the garden, I am affirmed.  And yesterday afternoon, sitting with two different groups of women, those planning the summer curriculum for the youth garden and those with whom I have taught for many years, I am understood.

And Jesus, seeing her, called to her, and said to her, Woman, thou art loosed from thine infirmity.       Luke 13:12

For now I know nothing else.

Writing topic:  Woman

One response to this post.

  1. I know this in my bones. My birth mother died just over three years ago. I needed this post today. Thank you for sharing. Sending love!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

