Thanks, Mother Nature

Day 298…

When I woke up this morning it was already hot.  Yesterday the temperature hit 100 and we’ve had no rain.  Argh…it’s not even officially summer yet.  And at last night’s cooking class, we made, and ate, enough for two heavy meals.  Ugh…I’m not used to heavy evening meals.  Grumble, grumble, grumble.

Someone needs an attitude adjustment.  It’s gonna be a long day.

So I take my coffee to the garden in hopes of finding some relief.  It’s already 80 degrees.  Sit still, Laura.  Watch the dawn break.

I feel a breeze.  I water plants and dig out nut grass.  Just stick to the routine, Laura.

Ta-da.  I spot an emerging cicada clinging to my crepe myrtle tree.  I’m not sure I’ve ever seen this before.  Yeah, I see the shells all the time, and I’ve seen the actual insect.  But this emerging event is new.  It slows me down.  Calls me to look closer.

Six feet to my left I examine my plumbago.  What a beautiful shade of blue.  Look at the way its flowers unfold.  Slow down, Laura.  There’s much to see.

On the other side of the curving garden wall two tiny flowers quietly wait for me to see them.  I don’t remember what they are called.  They will only last a day.  Pay attention, Laura.

I return to my blue chair and pick up the journal Melissa brought me from her trip.  This will be my garden journal, I think as I fill the first page with today’s sketches and observations.  There’s a lump in my throat.

What a difference a few minutes in the early morning garden makes.

Writing topic:  Earth mothering

2 responses to this post.

  1. What a gift, this morning was for you! Thank you for reminding all of us to slow down. While you bake in the heat, I’m praying for that same sunshine to make it’s way to Oregon. Have you read, “The Turquoise Ledge” by Leslie Marmon Silko? I think you will love it. Your cicada reminds me of it. Sending you love and blessings of Spirit. ~Melissa

    Reply

  2. What a great morning.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

