The Story Arc

Day 315…

I have a trick…When the day becomes overloaded with too many unresolved activities, I go to sleep, because I have found that in a deep sleep my anxieties get sorted out and released.  Ta da…

But there’s a developing dilemma.  Lately at night I have been experiencing distracting lower back pain.  I’m becoming proactive about dealing with the pain as I learn how, but it is interfering with my creative problem solving.

Yesterday evening I had the task of  letting go of the fact that I backed into a mailbox and left an 8 inch boo-boo on my relatively new car.  I drop into a deep sleep, assuming it will be a non-issue in the morning, only to wake up at 2 a.m. with a pain that allows me to continue taking note of the time, and be reminded of the unsightly blemish, until I finally give up and get up at 5.  I realize my concern is no longer the surface scrape on the rear end of my car, it’s the disturbance in my sleep.  Bummer.  That’s not how I envisioned solving the car dilemma.

Ah, but yesterday, after Mr. Anger had visited me in the night, I did write a story.  Substituting my normal first person journaling to third person storytelling, I followed the story arc.  Without my whiny little self in the story, I could let my character ride through the conflict and find resolution.  Ta da.  My new trick:)

Whatever works!!!

Writing topic:  Conflict resolution

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Mom and Dad on July 3, 2011 at 9:19 pm07

    I am so going to try this! Of course . . . get the whiny little self out of the story and see what happens! Love it! I needed this advice today. Thank you, Laura! Blessings to you! ~Melissa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

