Flower Wisdom

Day 319…

Help us to be ever faithful gardeners of the spirit, who know that without darkness nothing comes to birth, and without light nothing flowers.
May Sarton

• When you take a flower in your hand and really look at it, it’s your world for the moment. I want to give that world to someone else. Most people in the city rush around so, they have no time to look at a flower. I want them to see it whether they want to or not.      Georgia O’Keefe

Each of us is a flower, growing in Life’s garden…

Sung every year at Field Day at Stoner Hill Elementary School:)

Writing topic:  Flowers

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by John Oswalt on July 7, 2011 at 9:19 pm07

    I really enjoy when I see a tiny bug working away in its own little world among the stamen and pistil and petals. I am aware that some are there for enterprises that benefit the bug to the detriment of the flower, but it doesn’t always matter to me. I especially like those that are just there for the good stuff, and if they pollinate or clean or inadvertently perform some other good deed, good deal. The older I get, the more “no kill” I become. Of course, there are some bugs that just need killing (What was God thinking? Mosquitoes? Cockroaches?), but the common spider, nondescript beetles, that thing with the red body and black legs that I found on my oregano yesterday, I don’t see the sense in killing. Last year, we had a porch spider that came out every evening, spun its web from the roof to the rail, and spent every evening stocking its larder. In the morning, it would be gone, along with all traces of the web save one long stand that served as the foundation of the next night’s web. I introduced my 3 year old great-nephew to our spider, and he sat on my lap while we watched it swing in the air, trying to attach that first strand so it could built the framework of its net. This was fascinating, and Nathan became a little less scared of and more appreciative of garden spiders.

    Reply

  2. thanks John…remember our little Environment Club at Linwood…:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

