A Little Pep Talk

Day 321…

Paulo Coelho’s Facebook status this morning says, “Writing is a socially acceptable form of getting naked in public.”

I am making that my mantra this week as I push myself to finish an entry in the Look, Don’t Touch art show at East Bank Theater, to run simultaneously with a production of Vagina Monologues.

What’s the problem, Laura?  You’ve been exposing yourself through your writings, with your writing buddies and in writing groups for years now.

Well this is a different medium…one I’m not very good at.

Did you think you were any good when you started writing?

Not at all.

So why did you keep working at it?

I needed to talk.

What do you need to say in this art show?

That being exposed and vulnerable is nothing to be ashamed of.

So go for it.

Can I keep checking in with you when I get a little scared?

Sure.

Thanks.

Writing topic:  What I need to say…

Leave a Reply

