Committing to the Act

Day 326…

Today I’m spending the morning in my art room. The ideas are swirling, demanding to emerge, and the deadline is looming.  But I haven’t been able to sit still long enough to commit them to paper.

This is not unlike writing, Laura.  Just sit down and do it.

But my house is a mess.

Not anything that can’t wait.

I need to get Princess’ collar from the vet’s and return a library book.

Do it later.  Not this morning.

I’m still not sure how I’m gonna pull this off.

Just start doodling, slap a little paint on the page.

I’m scared.

Welcome to the world, baby girl.  You’re not alone.  Here are some of your friends’ thoughts.

You can’t wait for inspiration.  You have to go after it with a club.  ~Jack London

Things are only impossible until they’re not.  ~Jean-Luc Picard, Star Trek: The Next Generation

Writing topic:  Just do it

Leave a Reply

