Flying Higher/Going Deeper

Day 327…

Yesterday evening the jay is back with a few more feathers.  The anxious mother is not around, so I am able to get a bit closer.  My pictures are still fuzzy:)

I finish my piece for the “nekkid show.”  (in conjunction with a local production  of Vagina Monologues)  My fear I soon realize, is not about how it will look, but rather, what I might learn.  Allowing my creativity to show itself tends to do that.

The actual picture, “Maiden Dreams,” is as if done by a child.   On a high from working on the entry, I go to T’ai Chi, the dance to help move my energy to the next step.

Back home, I reexamine the picture.   What am I saying?  Naked maidens, a sketch from my mother and a simple line drawing from me.  Are we, as maidens, naive to the struggles of the world?  Is it denial,  this place we go when the world is too much with us? Or can it be, from our years of experience, a centering, like prayer or meditation, to gather strength to continue the journey?

This morning I pull more weeds and wonder why I planted a garden at the beginning of the hottest, driest summer on record.  And my house is still messy, but now even moreso because I’ve been emptying drawers and closets, moving stacks, and making decisions.

Life is occupied in both perpetuating itself and in surpassing itself. If all it does is maintain itself, then living is only not dying.

– Simone de Beauvoir

He who breathes deepest lives most.

– Elizabeth Barrett Browning

and one for me to work with…

For everyone of us that succeeds, it’s because there’s somebody there to show you the way out. The light doesn’t always necessarily have to be in your family; for me it was teachers and school.

– Oprah Winfrey

                      Writing topic: That which perpetuates and surpasses  life as I know it

Leave a Reply

