Continuing Education

Day 352…

Today I am meeting with my supervisor and the intern supervisors. This the first time we’ve been together like this and I’m looking forward to it.  Last spring with 54 interns, I  sometimes felt pulled in 54 different ways.

In addition to this meeting, I realize that having spent the summer with teenagers in the community garden program, watching their interactions, their moods, and their interests, I am now more prepared to help the middle school and high school interns.   Most of my own public school teaching was in the elementary schools, and I have needed more experience with teenagers.

I begin today with new ideas and energy and the desire to continue opening to the opportunities around me.

Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself.  ~John Dewey

The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn.  ~Alvin Toffler

Writing topic:  Life-long learning

Leave a Reply

