OK, Muse, You’ve Got My Attention

Day 362…

Ah, yesterday the entire morning is spent in my writing room.  Allowing my muse to have her way with me.  I’m not avoiding her with busy-ness, I offer no excuses, I just steadily write on…and on.

I only have little clues of what this is about…this abundance of ideas flowing from my pen.  I take a few breaks to read.  A little of Natalie Goldberg’s book Wild Mind and The Paris Wife by Paula McLain…a story of Hadley and Ernest Hemingway.  Even my reading is about writing.

Later when I leave the house, new ideas fire.  Ideas about the ideas I was having earlier.  I need to be with others just to get the Muse to shut up.  But the “others” I am with are writers and storytellers themselves.

And in the night, she visits again.  Why the persistence?  Is it because I am giving in to her?  Has she been like this all along?

Day 362 of this year-long blogging commitment…and school starts this week.  I’m transitioning into a new year, and I’m listening.  Wednesday will be my last blog.  For a while?  Forever?  I don’t know.  I don’t seem to be in charge.

Writing topic:  Giving in

2 responses to this post.

  1. I have to admit I am quite jealous!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lynn Charlton on August 21, 2011 at 9:19 pm08

    Hi Laura,

    There is an ancient teaching story about two Buddhist monks walking along a river in silence. They have a vow of chastity which requires that they never speak to or ever touch a woman.

    As they were walking up the river, they came upon a woman who was desperately trying to get across the river because her child is on the other side. It’s a fast-flowing river and she is frightened to cross it by herself.

    One of the monks walks over to her and offers his help. He picks her up and with the strength that he carries in his legs that walk mountains, valleys and streams, he carries her across the river, sets her down, comes back to join his fellow and they begin again to walk in silence.

    About two hours later, the second monk says to the first, “I can’t believe you carried that woman across the river. I can’t believe you touched her. I can’t believe that you broke your vows…” The other monk simply looks at his companion and says, “I put her down two hours ago. You are still carrying her.”

    Today, let’s consider what are we still carrying that really isn’t happening anymore. Let’s put it down. When we put that down, we now have our hands heart and our mind available to what’s here –right now.

    Put It Down

    this came to me in an email today- read it another time, yet today the PUT IT DOWN offered me the inspiration to write it down!!! You have encouraged me to begin writing again- may evn have the courage toa ska few friends to come together and share and encouage each other… THANK YOU_) I will miss your daily missive… hope we can stay connected by email or better yet telephionically-

    I came back last night from two weeks with my mom in Colorado- a bitter sweet journey- I will go back in a month to help her unpack and get settled- I am very tired from it all today- but great to home= off to the garden now to do two weeks of work- Don tried to keep it all watered but it was hard for him to do after 11 hour tense work days- Last night he suprised me by arranging 50 votive candles in glass cups all over the ” water feature” in our backyard- it even has water flowing in it now! While we went to dinner( – a “BANQUET catered by Bovine and Swine- I kid you not- this was classic Hobbs!! .) it actually rained and filled all those little cups with water. Maybe the dry spell is over—

    well, it IS the desert…

    more later- let the muse-ic begin…

    your friend,
    Lynn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

